Pastor Dave Efflandt
Lead Pastor

Greetings everyone! I hope that you had a wonderful summer, and that this finds you well-rested and ready to make our way into the program year!

As the program year gets started, I’d like to personally invite you to be a part of an important conversation we are having here at St. John’s: a conversation about stewardship. Over the course of eight weeks, from September 8 – October 27, we will explore what scripture teaches us about being faithful stewards of everything in our lives. We will also welcome the words of Mark Allan Powell to partner with us on this journey, through his book Giving to God; The Bible’s Good News about Living a Generous Life. Discussions for this series will take place in the Fireside Room between services on Sunday morning and after worship on Wednesday evenings. Listed below are the dates and topics we will explore.

Each week during worship, we have invited a member of our congregation to share their stewardship story with us right before the offering. I am certain that we will be blessed by their stories and inspired by God’s faithfulness at work in their lives.
Come, join us as we dive deeply into what it means to be called as faithful stewards of all that God has given us.

Stewardship Discussion Schedule

Date Theme
Sun, Sept 8
Wed, Sept 11
Belonging to God
1 Corinthians 3:21-23
Sun, Sept 15
Wed, Sept 18
Stewardship as an Act of Worship
1 Chronicles 29:14
Sun, Sept 22
Wed, Sept 25
Stewardship as an Act of Faith
1 Corinthians 4:1
Sun, Sept 29
Wed, Oct 2
Stewardship as a Spiritual Discipline
Matthew 6:21
Sun, Oct 6
Wed, Oct 9
Stewardship as Faithful Living & Giving
Acts 20:35
Sun, Oct 13
Wed, Oct 16
Stewardship as Support & Sacrifice
2 Corinthians 9:7
Sun, Oct 20
Wed, Oct 23
Financial Stewardship: How Much is Enough?
Psalm 116:12
Sun, Oct 27
Wed, Oct 30
Make a Stewardship Pledge